Rad Reading — February

In the month of February, I read Percy Jackson and the Olympians: The Sea of Monsters, written by Rick Riordan. This is the second book to the Percy Jackson and the Olympians series. This novel is about Percy Jackson’s second quest as a demigod. After saving the world from a war between the Greek Gods, Percy gains both a reputation and fame. However, his troubles don’t end there. The evil titan king Kronos’s plan to make the Greek Gods fight each other and destroy the earth during the process was foiled by Percy, so in response, he attacked Percy’s camp, Camp Half Blood (which is the only safe place for demigods like Percy). Percy and his returning friend Annabeth set out to retrieve “The Golden Fleece”, which is supposed to be able to restore the magical borders around the camp, saving it from being lost. Despite finding the solution to his problems, Percy must travel through the Sea of Monsters and fight several monsters recruited by Kronos to stop him from saving the camp.

I enjoyed this novel, because it was a very unique story. I can tell that the author put a lot of thought into this novel, as it included several fantasy places (which were very well described) and many diverse characters. Because I liked this book, I would recommend it, especially for those who enjoy mythology and fantasy.

My favorite character is Percy Jackson. Percy is a really likable character, because he has so many positive qualities, most importantly his compassion. Percy is compassionate. Within the text, “Nobody went close to the girl. I put my hand on her forehead. Her skin was cold, but my fingertips tingled as if they were burning… I took her by the shoulders and lifted her into a sitting position, resting her head on my shoulder” (278). These are the actions Percy took in response to a stranger girl showing up to Camp Half Blood very ill. This shows just how compassionate Percy is, as he stepped in to help someone in need, despite not knowing who she was or what she might do.

My favorite quote from Percy Jackson and the Olympians: The Sea of Monsters is “A minute later, Annabeth hit a patch of moss and her foot slipped. Fortunately, she found something to put it against. Unfortunately, that something was my face” (204). This is my favorite quote, because it lightens the dark, gloomy mood of the novel for a brief moment and makes me laugh.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *